VFP Events

 

Dear Chapter Contacts, 

We hope this email finds you well. Below you will find the notes from our last Chapter Contacts call, a Letter from the Outreach Committee of the National SOVA Working Group, ia reminder about VFP Social Hours, info about the upcoming members only discussion “Peacemaking in the Time of COVID”, Watch Party for the film Sir, No Sir!, Chapter Rosters, and a reminder that the IRS chapter filing deadline is May 15th.

For more news and information, take a look at the VFP eNews from yesterday

 

Chapter Contacts Call Notes

Thanks to all who were able to join our April Chapter Contacts Conference call. You can find the call notes here: Call Notes

– Next Call: Thursday, May 7th at 5pm PST / 6pm MST / 7pm CST / 8pm EST. Call-in Information and an agenda will be sent the week before the calls.

 

Letter from the Outreach Committee of the National SOVA Working Group

Please take a look at the attached letter from the SOVA Working Group outreach committee. It is a request for chapters to identify members involved in the SOVA effort at a local level to aid in the development of a listserv and provide advice, literature, flyers, sample op eds, etc.

 

VFP Social Hours – Every Tuesday and Thursday

Every Tuesday and Thursday at 2 pm. (EDT) | 1 p.m. (CST) | 12 pm (MST) | 11 am (PST). To Join Social Hour, click here. Or go to Zoom and click join meeting and enter in Meeting ID: 324 812 650

 

Discussion: Peacemaking in the Time of COVID

Thursday, April 23rd at 4pm (PDT), 5pm (MDT), 6pm (CDT), 7pm (EDT)

We are having a member call to discuss “Peacemaking in the Time of COVID”.  COVID-19 makes plain the various areas of work that we need to do to shore up our social support structures and ensure that all people living in our lands are taken care of, for the benefit of not only the individual but for our society as a whole. Join us for a brainstorm and discussion with members on ways Veterans For Peace can respond. Sign up here for call in details!

 

Watch Party: Sir, No Sir!

Thursday, April 30th at 4pm (PDT), 5pm (MDT), 6pm (CDT), 7pm (EDT)

Veterans For Peace will be hosting an online screening of the pivotal film, “Sir, No Sir!” and have a discussion following the screening.

Sir! No Sir! is a 2005 documentary by Displaced Films about the anti-war movement within the ranks of the United States Armed Forces during the Vietnam War. The film was produced, directed, and written by David Zeiger and features members of Veterans For Peace. Sign up here for call in details!

 

Chapter Rosters

If you need your monthly chapter roster in a different format, or if you have updates for your chapter rosters, or members that need to be removed, please send that info to membership@veteransforpeace.org.

 

IRS Information Due by May 15th

By now you should have received an email from VFP Business Manager, Shelly Rockett reminding you of the IRS deadline to submit the chapter’s 990. If you haven’t submitted, click here. The IRS user guide is hereFor filing system and website issues, see How to File: Frequently Asked Questions. If site issues are unresolved, call TE/GE Customer Accounts Services at 877-829-5500. A representative will file your Form 990-N information.

 

The final date for filing is May 15th. Be sure to get confirmation and email confirmation to shelly@veteransforpeace.org.

 

 

As always, thanks for all you do for Veterans For Peace. We hope you are staying well.

 

Remove my name from all future mass email communications:

Address postal inquiries to:

Veterans for Peace

1404 N Broadway

St. Louis, MO 63102